It Really Is The Thought That Counts

I hadn’t given our works Secret Santa too much thought until today. You tend to focus on what you will buy for someone, especially when that person’s been assigned at random. The last week of term push also means there are 100 other things going through your mind on loop as the Winter break approaches. Therefore, when I got to school and found a beautifully wrapped gift on my desk, I was instantly cheered and pulled from my Monday morning blues.

That’s nice, I thought.

Then I looked inside and realised it was beyond nice.

Photo on 14-12-2015 at 18.26

My Secret Santa seems to be someone who knows me well… and I haven’t even opened the present yet. My clue is that it is suspiciously notebook and pen shaped. Which means it is essentially “me” shaped. What’s more the card inside included encouragement to write along side this quote:

“The true alchemists do not change lead into gold; they change the world into words.”
William H. Gass, A Temple of Texts

I went from thinking how nice and organised my Secret Santa was, quietly rebuking myself for not getting myself organised over the weekend, to thinking how thoughtful and encouraging my mystery gift giver is.

Never doubt that it’s the thought that counts. Whoever thought of me when buying this gift made today a really good one. And like I said, that’s before I even open the wrapping paper.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

